NCCA names the winner of 2020 Young Historian’s Prize

NCCA (via GOV.PH): The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), through its National Committee on Historical Research (NCHR), is pleased to announce the winner for the 2020 Young Historian’s Prize (YHP).


The 2020 YHP is awarded to Mr. Francis Justine M. Malban, Assistant Professor I at the University of the Philippines Department of History, with his manuscript titled, “A History of Mental Health Institutions in the Philippines, 1898-1935”.

The YHP secretariat started accepting submission on October 15, 2019 until February 18, 2020 with a total of twelve nominations received. The winner was confirmed on January 2021.

In accordance with Section 12.B.7 of Republic Act 7356 or the Law Creating the NCCA, the NCHR conceptualized YHP aiming to encourage and support the writing of Philippine history from the Filipino perspective and to recognize the potential of young Filipino scholars on the basis of their single original work in the field of Philippine history and historiography.

Due to pandemic restrictions, awarding will be streamed through NCCA social media pages on June 12, 2021.

(See original post at: